Professional Certificate Programme in Guidance and Counselling

Professional Certificate Programme in Guidance and Counselling

The curriculum consists of three compulsory modules and three elective modules, with each module taking up 21 contact hours, a total of 126 hours.

Compulsory Modules

Module Code
Module Title
Contact Hours

This module examines major notions of counselling and their theoretical framework. Special emphasis will be placed on the application of these theories in a Hong Kong school setting. Case studies will be used for illustration and discussion.

This module introduces participants to ways of understanding the counselling process and the use of micro counselling skills. Topics include: the qualities of the counsellor, the therapeutic relationship and the counselling process at different stages. Basic training on micro skills will be provided through peer practice.

This module will present various developmental themes to help participants enhance their personal growth. It covers self-exploration, interpersonal relationships and experiential learning utilizing the application of a specific counselling theory to self-enrichment. This module consists of three 7-hour workshops arranged on Saturdays or school holidays. Participants can benefit from the most suitable environment for reflecting on new ideas learned from workshops. New perspectives about self and relationships with others can also more readily take shape. Full attendance is required for this module.

Elective Modules

Module Code
Module Title
Contact Hours

This module is designed to provide an overview of important elements in group guidance and counselling. Topics include: kinds of groups; group leadership styles and what makes an effective leader; potential group problems; and group processes and dynamics. Special emphasis will be put on suitability and application in the Hong Kong context

This module is designed to provide an overview of the developmental needs of adolescents. Emphasis will be put on how the adolescent is influenced by family, school, peers and society. Topics include: basic concepts of adolescent development; cognitive development; moral development; social and personality development; factors influencing the adolescent; and specific developmental issues and problems of Hong Kong adolescents

This module is designed to provide an insight into various ways of enhancing a person's self-esteem and self-image. Topics include: understanding ourselves as humans; feelings and changes; growing towards autonomy; enabling a responsible generation; and a new way to praise and ways to enhance self-esteem in the classroom and at home.

This module is designed to provide basic skills and practice for effective interpersonal communication. Topics include: knowing your own communication styles; awareness of non-verbal language; basic active listening skills; effective responding skills; appropriate assertiveness; and life situation practice. Learning takes place through interaction, experience and trying out new skills. 

This module is designed to provide learning and practice in how to effectively manage one's emotions. Topics include: key to emotional intelligence; knowing your limits and boundaries; managing with your heart and mind; and application in classroom and family settings. This module requires participants' active involvement and honest sharing for its best outcome. 

This module is designed to provide participants with supervised field experience. Each participant has to complete 3 taped counselling sessions. Case management skills will be learned through laboratory experience and examining actual experience. The participants will gain more self-understanding and acquire enhanced fundamental counselling techniques and hence be able to provide effective service in schools. 

This module is designed to empower participants to build a comprehensive student care and support system in order to create a nurturing school environment in which children and young people can make maximum use of the opportunity to learn and grow. Topics include: the basic concepts and principles of a comprehensive student care and support system; its goals and domains, service interfacing and collaboration among key parties; and essential elements and skills to implement such a system. 

This module is designed to help the participants with knowledge and understanding to work with young people having problems of identity, intimacy and sexuality predicaments. The module will venture on dilemma and ambivalence of identity formation and intimacy faced by young people in depth. Through close examination of their own values and attitudes in these issues, participants will be equipped to help the youngsters to overcome their developmental hurdles with competence. 

This module will closely examine separation and loss in intimate relationship. Participants will learn about the emotional reaction of people to separation and bereavement, and how self may regenerate or stagnate in the dynamic process of attachment, separation, loss and reattachment. It will also introduce methods of intervention to rebuild the sense of connectedness as well as restore the momentum and normal functioning of individual after the change in intimate relationship. 

* Basic training in counselling or the completion of CGC0001 or CGC0002 is a prerequisite for this module.

** The completion of CGC0001 or CGC0002 is a prerequisite for CGC0003. Full attendance is required for CGC0003.

# This module is ONLY open for participants of the Professional Certificate Programme in Guidance and Counselling. Before enrolling for CGC0112, participants must complete CGC0001 and CGC0002, and arrange their field placement for the Practicum Module at their own expense.

學生輔導專業證書課程

學生輔導專業證書課程

課程包括三個必修單元和三個選修單元,每單元課時為21小時,共126小時。

必修單元

Module Code
Module Title
Contact Hours

本單元旨在介紹現今最常用的輔導理論及其理念架構。學員將透過個案討論,分析如何應用這些理論,特別是如何將理論應用於香港的學習環境之中。

本單元旨在引導學員認識輔導的過程並掌握所需技巧。課題包括:輔導員的素養,治療中需要建立的關係,以及輔導過程的不同階段。此外,學員更會透過同儕間的實習學習基本的輔導技巧。

本單元旨在透過不同的成長主題,以助學員個人成長與發展。內容包括自我探索、人際關係和體驗學習,使學員認識如何應用特定的輔導理論達致自我改進的目標。課程將安排學員在星期六或學校假期參加為期三天、每天七小時的工作坊,目的是讓學員能在合適的環境裏反思導師在工作坊中帶出的新意念和想法,並從中凝塑對個人、對他人和對人際關係的新思維。學員須出席全部課堂。

選修單元

Module Code
Module Title
Contact Hours

本單元旨在介紹團體輔導中的重要元素。課題包括:不同類型的團體輔導理論及其應用,團體輔導的風格和有效輔導的條件,團體輔導可能出現的問題,團體輔導的過程和互動情況,以及團體輔導在香港的應用和適切性。

本單元旨在介紹青少年的成長需要,尤其針對家庭、學校、朋輩和社會如何影響青少年。課題包括:青少年發展的基本概念,認知發展,道德發展,社交和個性發展,影響青少年的因素,以及其他有關青少年的課題。本課程將特別著重探討香港青少年的成長問題。

本單元旨在向學員介紹一些能有效提升青少年自尊和自我形象的方法。課題包括:人的本質、感覺和轉變,邁向自主的成長,以及有效的讚美方法。學員亦會探討如何培育負責任的新一代,並認識在課堂和家庭中提升青少年自尊的方法。

本單元旨在讓學員通過交流、練習和體驗,學習有效的人際溝通技巧。課題包括:認識自己的溝通模式,加強對非言語溝通的觸覺,積極聆聽的技巧,有效回應的技巧,適當的自我確定,以及如何在日常生活中應用這些技巧。

本單元透過反覆的學習和訓練,讓學員能更有效地管理自己的情緒。課題包括:認識自己的限制,管理個人的心智,以及情緒智商的元素。課程並以個案分析和角色扮演,讓學員嘗試在家庭及課室中應用有關技巧。

本單元旨在讓學員在導師指導下,實習所學的理念和技巧。每位學員必須完成3節輔導實習,並將過程錄音;導師將在小組指導中改善學員處理個案的技巧。藉著討論真實個案,學員不單能更了解自己,並且進一步提升輔導技巧。

本單元旨在協助學員建立全面的學生關顧與支援系統,從而創造有利的學校環境,讓學生盡量把握機會學習和成長。課題包括:全面的學生關顧與支援系統的概念、原則、目標及範疇,與不同服務及團體的合作,以及成功推行此系統的要素和技巧。

本單元深入探討青少年在身分認同和親密關係上所遇到的困境與矛盾,讓學員掌握相關知識,協助解開青少年面對身分認同、親密關係及性問題時的困惑。學員亦會檢視自己在有關問題上的價值觀和態度,從而認識如何幫助青少年面對成長路上的障礙。

本單元將檢視與親人分離和喪親之痛。學員會認識人在遭逢分離或喪親所承受的壓力和可能出現的情緒反應,並了解在「依戀、分離、傷痛和再依戀」的動態變化過程中,人如何恢復生命力或為何一沉不起。課程還介紹不同的介入方法,幫助曾經歷分離或喪親者重建聯繫感,並回復日常功能和生命動力。

*修讀本單元需有基本輔導訓練或已修讀CGC0001 或 CGC0002。

**修讀本單元必須完成CGC0001 或 CGC0002。學員修讀CGC0003的出席率必須達100%。

#只供修讀或曾修讀學生輔導專業文憑或專業證書課程的學員選修。 學員修讀CGC0112前,必須完成CGC0001及CGC0002,並能夠在修讀期間自行安排實習。